Monument Circle Idea Competition partners include: The State of Indiana, City of Indianapolis, Central Indiana Community Foundation, Indianapolis Downtown, Inc., Monument Circle Idea Competition Advisory Council, Scoping Team and Circle stakeholders. The Monument Circle Idea Competition is a project of Indianapolis Downtown, Inc. and is funded from private donations.

No state or city taxpayer funds are being used for the Idea Competition.


The Monument Circle Idea Competition Advisory Council which includes co-chairs Indiana Governor Mitch Daniels, Mayor Greg Ballard, Brian Payne, president of the Central Indiana Community Foundation (CICF) and Tamara Zahn, president, Indianapolis Downtown, Inc. (IDI), and representatives from the business, residential, civic, arts and design communities, oversees the Competition.

Governor Mitch Daniels STATE OF INDIANA
The State of Indiana owns and manages the Indiana Soldiers and Sailors Monument, the centerpiece of Monument Circle through The Indiana War Memorials Commission. In addition, the Commission is responsible for University Park, the World Wars Memorial, Veterans’ Memorial Plaza, the Vietnam and Korean Wars Memorial, American Legion Mall and the USS Indianapolis National Memorial in Downtown Indianapolis.
The City of Indianapolis owns and is responsible for the streets, sidewalks and alleys around Monument Circle beyond the bollards surrounding the Indiana Soldiers and Sailors Monument. In response to deteriorating infrastructure, The City of Indianapolis Department of Public Works (DPW) retained the team of Woolpert, Browning Day Mullins Dierdorf and Eden Collaborative to conduct a scoping study as the first step of a longer planning and design process to prepare and maximize Monument Circle for the next 20-30 years. This study assesses infrastructure, traffic and other key current conditions and will develop preliminary concepts to further this already iconic space.
IDI is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization formed to develop, manage and market Downtown Indianapolis. IDI exists to continually improve Downtown because the Indianapolis region needs a strong, relevant and vibrant core.
The organization helps make Downtown a vibrant, beautiful, safe and convenient place to live, work and be entertained. It also helps ensure the maximum return on the nearly $8.1 billion invested in Downtown since 1990 and prepare Downtown for the more than $3.7 billion of new investments scheduled for completion by 2015. IDI was established in 1993.
CICF is a $575 million public foundation transforming the lives of central Indiana residents in three ways: consulting donors, family foundations and their professional advisors on charitable giving; awarding grants to effective not-for-profit organizations; and providing leadership to address community needs and seize opportunities. CICF was established in 1997 as a partnership between The Indianapolis Foundation, serving Marion County since 1916, and Legacy Fund, serving Hamilton County since 1991.



The Monument Circle Idea Competition Advisory Council which includes representatives from the business, residential, civic, arts and design communities.

Karen Arnett Indianapolis Metropolitan Police Dept. – Downtown District
David Baker Indianapolis Historic Preservation Commission
Christopher Barney Team Cruiser Conversion Co., Inc.
Mike Bates Indianapolis Metropolitan Police Department
Brad Beaubien Ball State University
John Beeler Asthmatic Kitty Records
Greg Bires Windsor Jewelry Company
Derrick Burks Ernst & Young LLP
Stephen Carlsen Christ Church Cathedral
Justin Christian BCForward
Simon Crookall Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra
Marsh Davis Indiana Landmarks
Traci Dolan ExactTarget
Roland Dorson Greater Indianapolis Chamber of Commerce
Valerie Eickmeier Herron School of Art & Design, IUPUI
Ted Fleischaker 110 E. Washington Condominiums
Shannon Forsell The Cabaret at The Columbia Club
Chris Gahl Indianapolis Convention & Visitors Association
J. Stewart Goodwin Indiana War Memorials Commission
Karen Sullivan Haley City Dept. of Public Works, Office of Sustainability
Kirk Hendrix 500 Festival
William Henley Indianapolis Power & Light Company
John Herbst Indiana Historical Society
Abbe Hohmann Cassidy Turley
Craig Honig WellPoint, Inc.
Ivan Howard 110 E. Washington Condominiums
Jesse Kharbanda Hoosier Environmental Council
Andre Lacy LDI, Ltd.
David Lawrence Arts Council of Indianapolis
Susanah Mead Conrad Residences
Gaylon Melton Simon Property Group
Mark Miles Central Indiana Corporate Partnership, Inc.
Doris Minton-McNeill City-County Council
Lori Miser Indianapolis Metropolitan Planning Organization
Charlie Morgan Emmis Communications Corp.
Thomas O’Donnell The Quality Connection
Mike Peoni City Dept. of Metropolitan Development
Rick Powers City Dept. of Code Enforcement
James Rentschler The Columbia Club
Jeff Reynolds Jones Lang LaSalle Americas, Inc.
Angel Rivera City-County Council
Sean Seyferth IBEW Local 481
Jason Shelley American Institute of Architects
David Sherman City Dept. of Public Works
J. Albert Smith Chase in Central Indiana
William Taft LISC Indianapolis
Rod Taylor ABATE
John Thompson Indiana Black Expo and Circle City Classic
Jim Walker Big Car Gallery
Bill White Indiana Dept. of Health
Robert Wynkoop Indiana Dept. of Administration



The Monument Circle Idea Competition Technical Team manages and implements the communications, fundraising and logistics of the competition.

Joshua Anderson Eden Collaborative
Karen Corsaro The Corsaro Group
Barth Hendrickson Browning Day Mullins Dierdorf Architects
Sarah Holsapple City Dept. of Public Works
Ben Houle Woolpert
Fred Laughlin Indianapolis Downtown, Inc.
Andy Lutz City Dept. of Public Works
Mike Peoni City Dept. of Metropolitan Development
Mark Ping Web Connectivity, L.L.C.
Terry Sweeney Indianapolis Downtown, Inc.
Adam Thies Eden Collaborative
Julia Watson Indianapolis Downtown, Inc.
Tamara Zahn Indianapolis Downtown, Inc.